West Valley City, Utah-June 9, 2012. Side-by-side racing action highlighted the night at Rocky Mountain Raceways, an ASA Member Track. The Maverik Modifieds double-main tested the skills of the racers and the strength of the race cars; with #50 Roger Wilson and #01 Michael Hale picking up main event-wins.

In the first Maverik Modified Main Event, #50 Roger Wilson started out front with a strong lead ahead of the field. Through several double-file restarts Wilson chose the outside, holding off pressure from #7 Bryan Wordelman, #20 Dan McCoy, #79 Jeffrey Webster and #01 Michael Hale. The group of championed racers kept fans on the edge of their seats as the race developed.

On the final restart in lap 47, Wilson chose the inside and secured his first place finish ahead of Wordelman in second, #84 Mark Ith Jr. in third, Webster in fourth and #4 Lynn Hardy in fifth. Tonight’s race marked the debut of Bryan Wordelman’s #7 Maverik Modified. Wordelman is the 2010 ASA Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil ASA Member Track National Championship.

Hale fell to the back of the field in the first main event but would return for the second main event determined for victory. Hale started the second main event in the 13th position but quickly maneuvered his way through the field; adding to the side-by-side racing progressing at the front of the field. By lap 25, Hale positioned himself as the leader and retained that position for the remainder of the 50-lap main event.

#18 Johnny Luttmer, Webster and Hardy put up a fierce fight for the subsequent positions. They battled it out to the end, crossing the finish line in a tight pack with fractions of a second between them. Luttmer finished in second, Webster in third and Hardy in fourth. #50 Roger Wilson rounded out the top-five. The Maverik Modifieds will return to the America First Credit Union Super Oval on Saturday, July 14.

The Super Stock racers also put on a great side-by-side event. #25 Dillion Lawrence crossed the finish line .141 seconds ahead of #69 Mike Wade . A caution in lap 8 brought the field together where the battle up front continued for the remainder of the 25-lap race. With a slight edge over Wade, Lawrence was able to secure his second win of the 2012 season.

#18 Daniel Calligaro took home the Hornet main event win after a nearly side-by-side finish with #16 David Baity in the first heat race. Calligaro made a strong statement in tonight’s race and currently sits atop the Hornet point standings; forty-four points ahead of Baity in second and one hundred nineteen points ahead of #30 Nathan Walker in third.

ASA Weekly Racing will continue at Rocky Mountain Raceways on Saturday, June 16 featuring Winged Sprints, Focus Midgets, Mini Cups, Figure-8 Cars and HR Equipment Figure-8 Trains. Gates open at 4:00pm, racing starts at 6:00pm. Saturday, June 16 is Coca-Cola Night, spectators can receive $5 off adult spectator admission when they present a Coca-Cola product to the ticket booth.

About Rocky Mountain Raceways
Celebrating its 16th season of racing, Rocky Mountain Raceways is Utah’s premiere motorsports venue for short-track oval racing, drag racing and motocross racing. For more information about Rocky Mountain Raceways visit

Rocky Mountain Raceways ASA Weekly Race Results
Saturday, June 9
Maverik Modifieds A-Main (50 Laps)
1. #50 Roger Wilson, 2. #7 Bryan Wordelman, 3. #84 Mark Ith Jr. , 4. #79 Jeffrey Webster, 5. #4 Lynn Hardy
Maverik Modifieds A-Main (50 Laps)
1. #01 Michael Hale, 2. #18 Johnny Luttmer, 3. #79 Jeffrey Webster, 4. #4 Lynn Hardy, 5. #50 Roger Wilson
Super Stocks (25 Laps)
1. #25 Dillion Lawrence, 2. #69 Mike Wade, 3. #13 Tim Fahrner, 4. #95 Greg Young, 5. #77 Barry Egolf
Hornets (20 Laps)
1. #18 Daniel Calligaro, 2. #31 Dana Combs, 3. #16 David Baity, 4. #33 Joshua Murray, 5. #5 Mark Barlow
HR Equipment Figure-8 Trains (10 Laps)
1. #20 Shake Rattle & Roll, 2. #33 Intimidator, 3. #44 Plum Crazy, 4. #5 Jack Wagon, 5. #13 Six-Feet-Under

Search News

Jacksonville Web Design, Website Development and Website Hosting by DiscoverTec